So…. You’re Engaged!

First of all, heck yeah! Congratulations on that shiny ring around your finger. I remember the day I got mine like it was yesterday, and whether proposals are traditional, romantic, sweet, unique, silly, or weird – they all basically rock. It means that someone likes you enough to spend the rest of their lives listening to and loving you, and that my friends, is a big deal.

So where do you begin? Well, if you are here, then you are in the right place! You’ve scoured through the images on my website and glanced over the starting price point and you are still reading so you must like me just a little bit. So lets chat about the next step.

  1. Make contact with me: I often get emails from potential brides just a few weeks before their wedding, trying to secure me to shoot their big day. Sometimes they get lucky and I randomly have an open weekend. But most of the time, they aren’t so lucky. In my experience, the typical bride has booked her wedding with me anywhere from 6-18 months in advance. Even those  who book 6 months in advance are squeakin’ by, but there is definitely a shot, so it NEVER hurts to ask. The worst that could happen is that I am unavailable. And In that case, I will happily steer you in the direction of a few local and very reputable and brilliant wedding photographers who I think you might be a good match with. So if anything, always feel free to inquire with me even if to simply use me as a resource.
  2. Know your date: I can only offer services if I am available, so make sure you have a date or a few dates in mind when you shoot me an email. Also, let me know if your date is flexible. I shoot year round, indoor and outdoor, so no venues are off limits.
  3. Tell me if we will be traveling: Do I? Yes. Always. Take me to Bend or the mountains or the beach. I’m in. I like to hit the road and go wherever you want. I’ll just need to know this when we discuss your date. I often shoot Friday weddings, and this could interfere with your date if you have selected a Saturday or vice versa.
  4. Secure your date: Wedding dates can be hard to come by and in order to reserve yours, I require 2 things. 1. A signed contract & 2. A deposit. The contract is an agreement that protects us both. In simple terms it says that I promise to show up, and it says that you promise that you are really getting married that day. Plus a bunch of other things that will ensure you have a smooth photography experience. We will go over it together, usually in person, and you can ask as many questions as you’d like. The non-refundable deposit tells me you are serious about getting married and it is deducted from your final balance. It is not an extra fee. This allows me to block out your day, and sometimes the day before and/or after if we are traveling.
  5. Schedule your engagement session: All of my weekend weddings come with a complimentary engagement session. And so do some of my weekday weddings.Feel free to ask about this when you e-mail me if you have questions. I do them because its easier for my clients to have everything in one place, from one place. And it is also my way of saying “Hey thanks!”. I don’t have a time frame on when this must be done. Each bride has a different idea and I’m pretty flexible. Plus, it really is your party!
  6. Rest easy: …For at least a second. You’ll have a million other things to do. But at least you’ll know that you just checked off one giant “to do” on your list.

If you are interested in checking my availability, send me an email at info@ashleyseibelphotography.com or shoot me a text. Phone calls are good too, but sometimes I’m in the middle of a shoot and you’ll find yourself leaving me a voicemail. I will get back to you as soon as I can. I promise.

I look forward to hearing from you! And again, Congrats!

-Ashley

 

Leave a Reply

